Georgia Minimum Wage Law and Employee Rights
When a business is registered in the state of Georgia, depending on its employee size, employers are provided information on the minimum wage laws by the office of the Georgia Secretary of State. The basic minimum rate (per hour) is set at $ 5.15 and it is applicable to employers of 6 or more employees. The Federal wage rate of $ 7.25 applies if the employer is subject to Federal Fair Labor Standard Acts. If the Federal wage is greater than the rate of minimum wage in Georgia, then the Federal rate applies. The state follows the Fair Labor Standards Act with respect to rules governing a standard workweek for employees. A workweek refers to the seven day period wherein the employee is expected to work for 40 hours. Any employee who works beyond 40 hours in a workweek needs to be paid overtime. As per the FLSA, overtime is one and a half times the employee’s hourly rate.
Benefits in Writing
The FLSA requires that all employer benefits provided to the employee (sick pay, insurance, leaves) be provided in writing. Information related to benefits and break timings (20 minute break for every six hours) should also be posted in an area accessible by all employees such as a cafeteria etc. If you receive most of your wages as tips, your employer need not pay you the minimum wage rate of the state. For anyone receiving their pay in part by gratuity, the state’s minimum wage rate is $2.13.
Employers need to maintain a record stating hours worked, wages paid and all other work-related information pertaining to employees in the establishment. These records are accessible by employees and they have a right to see them on request.
Your Rights As An Employee
As per the Federal law, employers in the state of Georgia cannot discriminate against any employee based on race, gender, religion, disability or age. They cannot harass employees and demote, not promote or terminate them without any valid reason. Residents of the state need to be 14 years or above to work in the state and employees under 18 years are required to produce a work permit from their local board of education.